Gamma-Kappa Hall of Fame

2011



THE UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMA FRIDAY, OCTOBER 21, 2011



HALL OF FAME INDUCTION CEREMONY

The Gamma-Kappa Hall of Fame Awards are presented by the Gamma-Kappa Chapter of Kappa Sigma Fraternity at the University of Oklahoma. Conceived as a means of honoring our alumni for outstanding achievements in their careers and/or service to the community/fraternity, this award will become an integral part of our tradition here at Gamma-Kappa.

Kappa Sigma is a national fraternity with great pride and a tradition of excellence that our many distinguished alumni have served to enhance throughout the years. The Gamma-Kappa Chapter has seen many brothers rise to positions of prominence. Congratulations to those who have been awarded this honor!

Program

Welcome - Sam Dekinder '57

Invocation

Dinner

Chapter Update - Ryan Butts '98

Business Meeting - Russell Wantland '96

Architectural Committee - Russell Wantland '96

Comments from the Colony President - Richard Renteria

2011 Hall of Fame Induction - Sam Dekinder '57

Jim Culwell '57 (presented by Ryan Butts '98) Chris Meyers '63 (presented by Lee Sanger '70)

Closing Comments - Denny Bartell '52



Jim Culwell'57



Brother Culwell is the Vice President of American Millwork Co. Inc. He is active in various construction and woodworking trade associations.

As an undergraduate, Jim served as GS, GP, Area Rush Chairman, Yard Manager and Social Chairman. He has served on house corporation board since the 60's and is currently serving as our Treasurer for over 20 years. Ryan Butts says, "he has been

the backbone of Gamma-Kappa for last 40 years and we wouldn't be where we are today without his support and dedication."

Jim has four children, Robert, Kristi, James, and Stephen.

Jim says, "Kappa Sigma has allowed me to make lifelong friendships with a great bunch of guys."

Chris Meyers'63



Brother Meyers graduated from OU in 1966 and continued his education to receive a JD in 1969 at OU and LLM in 1971 at Georgetown. After graduating from law school, he worked for Artuhr Anderson & Co, then engaged in private practice in Shawnee briefly before heading to Lawton, where he has been practicing law for last 40 years. He currently serves as the President of O. Christopher Myers, Inc.

Chris currently serves as Governor of Oklahoma Bar Association, 8th Judicial District. In the past he also served as President of Oklahoma Bar Association and President of Oklahoma Institue on Taxation. He is a founding member of Board of Directors of Oklahoma Bar Association Professional Liability Insurance Company, Oklahoma Tax Lawyers Group, and member of Oklahoma Society of Certified Public Accountants.

Chris is also involved with many community organizations. He was past president of Lawton Community Health Center, Lawton Rotary Club, Lawton YMCA, Comanche County Bar Association Member, Advisory Board of Directors BancFirst, Arts for All, Lawton Community Theatre, Museum of Great Plains, and Lawton County Club to name a few.



Brother Meyers helped form and operate the Gamma Kappa of Kappa Sigma Foundation, Inc. and currently serves as our President.

He and his wife, Jeanne, have three children. Oldest son, Jay was intiatiated into Gamma-Kappa chapter in 1981 and graduated OCU law school in 1995. Their daughter, Laura Meyers Magrath, gradated from SMU in 1992 and is a member of Delta Delta Delta sorority. She lives in Lawton with her husband Shawn and they have a son, Brady. They are expecting twins shortly. Youngest daughter, Christina graduated from University of Arizona in 2009 and is a member of Alpha Phi sorority. She is currently iin a PhD prgram in Speech Pathology.

When asked about Gamma-Kappa and Kappa Sigma, Meyers responded, "They were instrumental in helping provide a foundation for success in life."



PAST HALL OF FAME INDUCTEES

CA Cameraon	Bill Durrett '48
Jay Galt	Tom Brett '50
John Brett '17	A.V. Jones '50
Paul Johnston '17	Denny Bartell '51
James B. Eskridge '39	Bill Wantland '53
Calvin Hendrickson '42	Jon R. Jones '54
Gy Steele '46	John Adams '57
Edward A. Eskridge '47	Gary Fuller '57
Jere W. McKenny '47	